Thursday, 15 August 2013

Communiqué: Communiqué Of Maiden Meeting Of All Progressives Governors’ Forum

(Being Communiqué Of All Progressives Governors’ Forum Maiden Meeting Held At Lafia, Nasarawa StateOn The 14th Of August, 2013)

After an exhaustive deliberation of the Progressive Governors Forum (PGF) meeting attended by H.E. Umaru Tanko AI-makura (Governor, Nasarawa State), H.E. Kashim Shettima (Governor, Borno State), H.E. Kayode Fayemi (Governor, Ekiti State), H.E. Rafiu Aregbesola (Governor, State of Osun), H.E. Babatunde Raji Fashola (Governor, Lagos State), H.E. Isiaka Abiola Ajimobi (Governor, Oyo State) H.E. Abdulazeez Yari (Governor, Zamfara State), H.E. Ibikunle A. Amosun (Governor, Ogun State), H.E. Comrade Adams Oshiomhole (Governor, Edo Sate) and H.E. Owelle Rochas Okorocha (Governor, Imo State represented by the Deputy Governor, H.E. Prince Eze Madumere) and with apology from H.E. Ibrahim Geidam (Governor, Yobe State) in which a number of national issues on the on-going dialogue to salvage the nation and proffer practical solutions on moving Nigeria forward as well as strategies to compliment efforts of the interim national executives to strengthen the party, It was resolved as follows:
1.The Forum commends the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) for rising to the occasion in registering the All Progressives Congress in the overall national interest. The Forum hopes that such nationalistic and patriotic position of INEC shall continue to guide its conduct with respect to its statutory mandate.
2.The Forum congratulates and expresses confidence on the interim National Executive of the APC in its on-going efforts to reposition the party as a credible alternative to the teaming Nigerians that are yearning for change.
3.The Forum commits itself to the process of APC party formation and consolidation in line with the on-going efforts of the interim national leadership and with the understanding of the Progressive Governors Forum (PGF) as it affects the development of healthy relationship among the members of the APC.
4.The PGF discussed constitutional amendment extensively and resolved that the issue of Local Government Administration, recognizing the fact that Federalism is the basis of our sovereignty, is a matter within the purview of the Federating Unit and every attempt to legislate by the National Assembly on any aspect of Local Government Administration will tilt the country towards a unitary state. This will undermine and weaken the fundamental principles of our federalism.
5.The Forum deliberated on revenue allocation and notes that in spite of recommendations made to the Presidency, no effect has been given to the extant proposals on the need to give more funds to the states and local governments because that is where the citizens reside. The PGF further recommends that the powers to alter the revenue allocation formula currently with the Presidency should be vested in the National Assembly henceforth.
6.The Forum condemns the killing of security operatives at Alakio by the outlawed Ombatse militia and commends the Nasarawa State Government for the proactive steps taken in instituting a Judicial Commission of Enquiry with a view to bringing to book the perpetrators of this dastardly act.
7.The Forum condemns unreservedly the repression in Egypt following the unconstitutional ouster of a democratically elected government and call on the International community to ensure speedy resolution of the crisis.
8.Finally, the Forum also resolved not only to complement the efforts of the Interim National Executive of the APC but also to drive the process of consolidation through accommodation and tolerance in order to carry everybody along, since democracy is a game of numbers and compromise.
Dated and signed at Lafia this 14th day of August, 2013 for and on behalf of the PGF:
H.E. Umaru Tanko AI-makura (Governor, Nasarawa State) .
H.E. Kashim Shettima (Governor, Borno State) .
H.E. Kayode Fayemi (Governor, Ekiti State) .
H.E. Rafiu Aregbesola (Governor, State of Osun) .
H.E. Babatunde Raji Fashola (Governor, Lagos State) .
H.E.lsiaka Abiola Ajimobi (Governor, Oyo State) .
H.E. Abdulazeez Yari (Governor, Zamfara State) .
H.E. Ibikunle A. Amosun (Governor, Ogun State) .
H.E. Comrade Adams Oshiomhole (Governor, Edo Sate) .
H.E. Owelle Rochas Okorocha (Governor, Imo State represented by the Deputy Governor,H.E. Prince Eze Madu mere ) .
H.E. Ibrahim Geidam (Governor, Yobe State) (Apologies)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please restrict your comment to the subject matter.