Wednesday, 4 December 2013

Communiqué: Communiqué Of Meeting Of Yoruba Obas And Leaders Of Thought

Oba Sijuade; Convener

The meeting of Yoruba Obas and Leaders of Thought convened by His Imperial Majesty Oba Okunade Sijuwade, The Ooni of Ife and attended by notable Obas, Prominent Yoruba Leaders of Thought and most of the Socio-Cultural Organizations held today 3rd December, 2013 at the Oba Okunade Sijuade Hall, Aafin Olofin Adimula Oodua to deliberate on Yoruba position to the proposed NATIONAL DIALOGUE.

After exhaustive deliberations on the subject matter, the meeting adopted the following resolutions;

1.Meeting commends President Goodluck Jonathan for initiating the process towards the convocation of NATIONAL DIALOGUE to address the various challenges of nationhood facing Nigeria which we have failed to fully address in the last fifty- three years of our existence as an independent country. Meeting further encouraged the president to ensure that he midwifes a proper conference that would give Nigeria a structure conducive to stability, peace, unity and progress of all sections of the country.

2.Meeting fully endorsed the proposed NATIONAL DIALOGUE and enjoins Yoruba people in the six south west states, parts of Kwara, Kogi, Edo, Delta and Niger States as well as Yoruba in the Diaspora to fully participate in all processes leading to the conference and the conference itself in order to realize our aspirations for Yoruba autonomy within a truly federal republic of Nigeria.

3.In order to harmonize the Yoruba agenda to the proposed NATIONAL DIALOGUE and integrate all Yoruba stakeholders, meeting set up a committee consisting:-

i.Chief Olu Falae –Chairman
ii.eneral Alani Akinrinade (Rtd) –Vice Chairman
iii.Dr Kunle Olajide-Secretary

Other members to be announced soon after due consultation.

Finally, meeting expresses profound gratitude to Adimula Arole Oodua, His Imperial Majesty Oba Okunade Sijuwade for the initiative of calling the meeting and pleads with Kabiyesi not to relent in reaching out to all necessary constituencies to fully solidify the House of Oduduwa.


Yinka Odumakin
For: Meeting of Yoruba Obas and Leaders of thought

Leaders In Attendance:
1.Bishop Bolanle Gbonigi

2.Chief Reuben Fasoranti
3.Chief Ayo Adebanjo
4.Sir. Olaniwun Ajayi
5.Chief Olu Falae
6.Gen. Alanni Akinrinade
7.Prof. Adenike Grange
8.Senator Kofoworola Bucknor Akerele
9.Mr. Segun Ojo
10.Mr. Tokunbo Ajasin
11.Chief Adekunle Olaiya
12.Comrade Wole Aina
13.Prof. Opeloye M.O
14.Senator Tony Adefuye
15.Dr. Kunle Olajide
16.Dr. O. Awolowo Dosunmu
17.Dr. A.A. Akingba
18.Admiral Akin Aduwo
19.Basorun Seinde Arogbofa
20.Prof. M.O. Opeloye
21.Hon. Moshood Adegoke Salvador
22.Otunba Gani Adams

1 comment:

  1. Where is Fani-Kayode on this list? Is he not one of the young leaders of Yorubaland? After all, GAni Adams is on the list and he is nothing but the leader of a gang of robbers.


Please restrict your comment to the subject matter.