Tuesday, 16 September 2014

News Release: 2014 Right Livelihood Awards To be Announced On September 25th

The Right Livelihood Award Foundation will announce the recipients of the 2014 Award at a press conference in the Swedish Ministry for Foreign Affairs' Press Room, Stockholm, on September 25 at 10 am CET.
The Award, often referred to as the 'Alternative Nobel Prize', recognizes the work of some of the world’s most courageous and inspiring people. Ole von Uexkull, Executive Director, and Juliane Kronen (Germany), Board Member of the Right Livelihood Award Foundation, will announce the new Award Recipients and answer your questions.

This year, the Foundation had 120 proposals for the Award from 53 countries.

The Right Livelihood Award was founded in 1980 by Jakob von Uexkull, who contributed the original funding. Since then, the Award has been supported by individual donors. Its aim is "to honour and support those offering practical and exemplary answers to the most urgent challenges facing us today".

In August 2014, the Government of Sweden bestowed Illis Quorum Meruere Labores, a gold medal awarded for outstanding contributions to Swedish culture, science or society, on Jakob von Uexkull, Founder of the Right Livelihood Award.

Today, there are 153 Laureates from 64 countries. For statistics about the Prize, please see http://www.rightlivelihood.org/statistics.html

Previous Laureates include: Denis Mukwege (DRC), Nnimmo Bassey (Nigeria), Jacqueline Moudeina (Chad), Vandana Shiva (India) and Amy Goodman (USA).

The Right Livelihood Awards are scheduled to be presented at a ceremony in the Swedish Parliament on December 1, 2014, at 4 pm. The ceremony is hosted by the Society for the Right Livelihood Award in the Swedish Parliament (SÄRLA).


Zahra Moloo
Cell Phone  +254 724 568 164

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please restrict your comment to the subject matter.